International Baccalaureate

WhatsApp Chat
Send us a message today and we will contact you as soon as possible.


A Levels, short for Advanced Level qualifications, are a subject-based qualification typically taken by students in the United Kingdom and some other countries as a pre-university qualification. A Levels are widely recognized and accepted by universities and colleges worldwide.
Here are some key features of A Levels:

  1. Subjects: A Levels offer a wide range of subjects across various disciplines, including sciences, mathematics, humanities, social sciences, languages, and the arts. Students typically choose three to four subjects to study in-depth, although the number of subjects can vary.
  2. Two-Year Program: A Levels are usually a two-year program, with students starting their studies in the Lower Sixth (Year 12) and completing their exams in the Upper Sixth (Year 13). Some students may choose to take an additional year to study further subjects or improve their grades.
  3. Modularity: A Levels are divided into separate units or modules, with each unit focusing on a specific topic or area of the subject. Students typically take exams at the end of each unit, and their final A Level grade is based on their performance across all units.
  4. Grading: A Level grades are awarded on a scale from A* (highest) to E (lowest). In addition to the overall A Level grades, students may also receive grades for individual units.
  5. Flexibility: A Levels offer flexibility in subject choices, allowing students to tailor their studies according to their interests and future career aspirations. Students often choose subjects related to the field they wish to study at university.
  6. University Admission: A Level results play a crucial role in university admissions. Universities consider A Level grades as an indicator of academic ability and potential for success in higher education. Students typically receive conditional offers from universities, where their admission is contingent upon achieving specific A Level grades.

It’s worth noting that A Levels are not the only pre-university qualification available. Other qualifications, such as the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma, Advanced Placement (AP) courses, and BTEC qualifications, are also recognized by universities and offer alternative pathways to higher education.

Overall, A Levels provide a rigorous academic program, allowing students to specialize in subjects of their choice and prepare for university-level studies. They are widely regarded for their depth of knowledge and academic rigor, making them a popular qualification for students pursuing higher education.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Book Free Demo Class

Certified Educators

Concept Clearing

Extensive Study Material